Who We Are

Symphony in the Flint Hills, Inc. is a 501c(3) non-profit organization that works to build awareness for the last stand of tallgrass prairie. Throughout the year we share the story of the Flint Hills worldwide through arts and cultural exhibitions in our Cottonwood Falls gallery, articles in our acclaimed Field Journal, and family fun at WoodFest. Each June, 7,000 kindred spirits join us for our Signature Event, where we showcase the region’s heritage and beauty through visual art, dialogue, and music. The organization is led by a 17-member volunteer Board of Directors and operated by a small staff with the help of 700 dedicated volunteers. Our Signature Event and year-round prairie education activities are made possible only through the generosity of contributors like you.


Heighten appreciation and knowledge of the Flint Hills tallgrass prairie.


We envision a future where our efforts inspire people to strengthen the Flint Hills by sustaining the region’s unique culture and landscape.


Flint Hills leaders founded Symphony in the Flint Hills, Inc. in 2004 to heighten appreciation and knowledge of the Flint Hills tallgrass prairie. The organization hosted the first of its annual prairie concerts in 2006.


Sandy Carlson

Program Manager

Read bio

Kelly Tastove

Operations Manager and Donor Relations Manager

Read bio

Please direct media inquiries to Carrie Lindeman.

Board Members

Julie White Hower | Chair

Council Grove, KS

Mike Collinge | Vice Chair

Hamilton, KS

Beth Harshfield | Treasurer

Wichita, KS

George Terbovich | Secretary

Kansas City, MO

Rhonda Atkinson

Alma, KS

Bruce Breckenridge

Leawood, KS

Jeff Davidson

Eureka, KS

Dylan Evans

Lebo, KS

Dalton Henry

Randolph, KS

Mary Ice

Manhattan, KS

Debbie Miller

Council Grove, KS

Virginia Moxley

Council Grove, KS

Larry Patton

El Dorado, KS

Melanie Thompson

Lake Quivira, KS